Prestigious Lecture Series named after NTU President Prof Subra Suresh


NTU President, Prof Subra Suresh has been recognised by his alma mater, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, with a new lecture series named after him.
On 4 January, IIT Madras launched the Prof Subra Suresh Institute Lecture Series at Bengaluru, in honour of one of its most illustrious alumni, a Distinguished Alumnus Awardee (1997) and currently a Distinguished University Professor and President of NTU Singapore.
The Prof Subra Suresh Institute Lecture Series will serve as an institute-wide forum for connecting global thought leaders with students, faculty and staff at IIT Madras to discuss topics of industrial importance and societal significance. This new lecture series was made possible by a generous gift from another illustrious alumnus of IIT Madras, Mr Senapathy ‘Kris’ Gopalakrishnan, Chairman of Axilor Ventures, Bengaluru, and co-founder of Infosys.

Previously in June 2018, Mr Gopalakrishnan gave $4 million to support postdoctoral and student research activities at NTU. Of the $4 million, $2 million goes towards creating the Gopalakrishnan-NTU Presidential Postdoctoral Fellowship that will enable some of the world’s most promising postdoctoral candidates to carry out their research at NTU, ranked the world’s best young university in the last six years and one of the top universities in the world by QS.
Speaking about the lecture series established in his name, Prof Suresh said, “IIT Madras has been instrumental in shaping my professional and personal lives since I enrolled there as a 16-year-old undergraduate student.  I am delighted, honoured and humbled to have this opportunity to deepen my connections to IITM through this newly established Institute Lecture Series.  I am profoundly grateful to my fellow IITM-alumnus Kris Gopalakrishnan, whom I have long admired, for his thoughtfulness and extraordinary generosity in establishing this lecture series.”
Earlier on 3 January, Prof Suresh was among the leading speakers at the 107th Indian Science Congress along with Nobel Laureates Prof Stefan Hell, a physicist from Max Planck Institute, Germany and Prof Ada Yonath, a crystallographer from Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel.
The Congress, India's largest annual gathering of global scientific luminaries, was inaugurated by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the University of Agricultural Sciences’ GKVK Campus in Bangalore.

Share Article