NTU President elected to Honorary Fellowship


NTU President Professor Subra Suresh has been made an Honorary Fellow of St Hugh’s College, Oxford University in recognition of his extensive accomplishments in engineering and science.

Since 1926, St Hugh’s has awarded just 40 Honorary Fellowships to those who have attained distinction in academic, professional, and public life and who have a connection with the college and its work.

The College was founded in 1886 and is home to over 800 students. Among its alumni are Nobel Peace Prize winner Aung San Suu Kyi, and current Prime Minister of the UK, Theresa May. 

Prof Suresh, who was elected to the fellowship last year, joins Professor Sir Keith O’Nions, a member of the NTU Board of Trustees and former President and Rector of Imperial College, and Professor Gillian Gehring, the second female Professor of Physics in UK, among the Fellows.
The Rt. Hon Dame Elish Angiolini DBE QC FRSE, St Hugh’s College Principal, said the fellowship recognised Prof Suresh’s “outstanding academic leadership and achievements in engineering across the world”.

“I offer my warmest congratulations and I am delighted that we have been able to honour Professor Suresh and welcome him to the community of St Hugh’s College,” she said.

On being elected an Honorary Fellow, Prof Suresh said: “I am deeply honoured to receive this fellowship appointment. I also hope to further strengthen ties with St Hugh’s by exploring areas of collaboration between NTU and Oxford University.”

Prof Suresh spoke at the Oxford Brain Mechanics Workshop, held at St Hugh’s College, on cell properties and human diseases in 2015.

Prof Suresh has been elected a fellow or honorary member of all the major materials research societies in the US and India, and holds the distinction of being a member of all three National Academies in the USA, of science, engineering and medicine. Prof Suresh is also the holder of 12 honorary doctorate degrees from institutions in the US, England, Sweden, Spain, Switzerland, India and China. 

At his inauguration ceremony as NTU President last month, Prof Suresh became the first Distinguished University Professor, NTU’s highest academic recognition awarded for extraordinary scholarly achievement, typically across multiple disciplinary boundaries.

Share Article