​NTU President Professor Subra Suresh receives the Brown Engineering Leadership Medal​


NTU President Professor Subra Suresh has been awarded the Brown Engineering Leadership Medal in recognition of his distinguished service and leadership both to Brown University’s School of Engineering, and to the engineering field.

The medal was introduced to celebrate eminent scientists who are not alumni of Brown Engineering, but have made significant contributions to the School or to the field of engineering.

Established in 1847, the undergraduate engineering programme at Brown is the oldest in the Ivy League and the third oldest civilian engineering programme in the United States of America. Notable among its alumni are Blackberry CEO John S. Chen, Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi, and president of China’s National Natural Sciences Foundation Yang Wei.

Brown University’s Dean of Engineering Prof Larry Larson said that Prof Suresh was chosen for his notable work as a scientist and researcher. 

He said: "We are delighted to recognise President Suresh's illustrious career as a scientist and researcher, his service to Brown Engineering, and his outstanding record of distinguished and impactful leadership in academia and government."  

Prof Suresh said that the medal brought back fond memories of his time as a faculty member at Brown. 

He said: “It is a tremendous honour to be a recipient of this medal. My ten years as a young faculty member at Brown were wonderfully rewarding, thanks to the many talented students, post-docs, and faculty colleagues I worked with. Close research collaborations with Alan Needleman, Fong Shih and the late Jacques Duffy were particular highlights of my career in the late 1980s.

“My wife Mary and I were married on a beautiful New England autumn day at Manning Chapel on the Brown campus, and we had a wedding reception at the Brown University Faculty Club. Many faculty members and students from the Division of Engineering attended our wedding.”

Prof Suresh started his academic career at Brown University as an assistant professor in December 1983. In July 1989, he was promoted to the rank of Professor.

He later joined the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and became the dean of its School of Engineering, before being appointed by US president Barack Obama in 2010 to lead the National Science Foundation as Director. Before his current appointment as NTU President, he was president of Carnegie Mellon University.

Earlier this year, President Suresh was elected Honorary Fellow of St Hugh’s College, Oxford University, in recognition of his extensive accomplishments in engineering and science.

Share Article