News Details | 18-Jan-2010

Institute of Advanced Studies Director named Fellow of American Physical Society

Professor (Adjunct) Phua Kok Khoo, Director of Nanyang Technological University’s (NTU) Institute of Advanced Studies, has been named Fellow by the American Physical Society (APS). He joins an elite group of some 3,500 Fellows worldwide elected since 1995.

Professor Phua is a theoretical high energy physicist and has done research in the field of phenomenology in high energy collisions. He was cited for his “tireless efforts to strengthen scientific research throughout Asia and promote international physics education and scholarly exchanges, and for enriching science and education through the World Scientific Publishing Company he founded”.

"I am delighted to be elected a Fellow to the American Physical Society. This is not only a distinguished recognition of my personal achievement; it is also an honour I wish to share with NTU. I understand that I am the only person from Singapore to be elected to the 2009 APS Fellowship. With this honour, I will continue to dedicate my time to doing more good research for NTU to elevate the Institute of Advanced Studies to a higher international status,” says Professor Phua.

He is the founding President of the South East Asia Theoretical Physics Association. Together with Nobel Laureate Professor C N Yang and other senior physicists, Professor Phua is one of the founding council members of the Association of Asia-Pacific Physical Society. An intrepid entrepreneur, Professor Phua is also the Chairman and Editor-in-Chief of World Scientific Publishing Company, which he founded in 1981. With nine offices worldwide, his company publishes books and journals in the diverse fields of science, technology, medicine, as well as business and management.

APS Fellowship is a distinct honour given after extensive review. Only 0.5% of APS members are named as Fellows annually. With a total membership of about 46,000, only 230 people worldwide are elected as Fellows each year. The honour is a lifetime appointment. The Fellowship programme was created to recognise original research and publication and contributions to the teaching of physics, as well as service and participation in the society.

*** END ***
Media Contact:

Sunanthar Lu
Assistant Manager (Corporate Communications Office)
Nanyang Technological University
Tel: (+65) 6790 6179 Mobile: (+65) 9727 2170

About Nanyang Technological University

Share Article