News Details | 04-Jan-2010

Two NTU dons clinch prestigious IEEE Fellowship

Two professors from Nanyang Technological University’s (NTU) School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (EEE) – Prof Wen Changyun and Assoc Prof Zhang Yue Ping have been selected as Fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).The IEEE Fellowship awarded to Prof Wen and Assoc Prof Zhang, which takes effect on 1 January 2010, is highly regarded by the international engineering community as a prestigious honour that recognises individuals with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest.

Prof Wen Changyun, from NTU’s EEE’s Division of Control & Instrumentation, is cited for his contributions to adaptive control, switching and impulsive systems. He said, “When I received the news on my elevation to IEEE Fellow from the IEEE President, I was truly honoured. I regard this recognition by international experts in my area of research as one of my greatest professional successes. I am most proud of my research work in adaptive control, which has created advanced techniques for inventions and innovations that have had significant applications to automotive, robotic, aircraft and spacecraft control systems technologies.”

Assoc Prof Zhang Yue Ping, from NTU’s EEE’s Division of Circuits & Systems, is cited for his contributions to integrated antennas and subsurface radio. He said, “It is a great honour to be elevated to IEEE Fellow. As a radio scientist, I have been working actively in the field of radio science and technology for more than 30 years. I have made several original contributions to the theory of propagation of radio waves, miniaturization of antennas, integration of radio transceivers, and advancement of wireless chip area networks. This recognition shows that my work has had significant impact on the international scientific community.”

The IEEE Fellowship is the institute’s highest grade of membership and only one-tenth of one percent of the entire international membership can be awarded the honour in a given year. Prof Wen and Assoc Prof Zhang now join the ranks of an elite group of 18 IEEE Fellows in Singapore. To date, seven NTU faculty members have been conferred the IEEE Fellowship, signifying the top-notch quality of the University’s faculty, with the remaining Fellows coming from other educational and research organisations here.

IEEE's roots go back to 1884. It is one the world's leading professional associations for the advancement of technology, with more than 370,000 professional members whose technical interests are in electrical and computer science, engineering and related disciplines. IEEE fellows are an elite group who provide guidance and leadership to the institute's members in electrical and electronic technology. The institution publishes almost a third of the world's technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.

*** END ***

Media Contact:

Sunanthar Lu
Assistant Manager (Corporate Communications Office)
Nanyang Technological University
Tel: (+65) 6790 6179

About Nanyang Technological University 

Share Article