News Details | 26-Jul-2010

NTU celebrates the graduation of its Class of 2010

• Pioneer graduates from two double degrees
• 29 graduates from premier scholars programme in science & engineering
• Two honorary degrees conferred
• 28 Lee Kuan Yew Gold Medals and 19 Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Awards presented

Nanyang Technological University (NTU) celebrates the graduation of 8,526 students from its Class of 2010 in 17 ceremonies held over a six-day convocation period, from 26 to 31 July 2010. The Class of 2010, the largest graduating cohort ever, adds to NTU’s alumni strength of some 140,000 graduates. A total of 117 gold medals are awarded to top graduates this year.

This year’s Convocation marks the graduation of the pioneer double degrees cohorts from the School of Biological Sciences and the School of Computer Engineering, as well pioneer cohorts from the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences.

The School of Biological Sciences will see the pioneer cohort of graduates from its Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Sciences. These 59 graduates have completed the five-year double degree programme offered by NTU and the Beijing University of Chinese Medicine.

The School of Computer Engineering and the Nanyang Business School celebrates the pioneer cohort of graduates from the Double Degree in Bachelor of Business and Bachelor of Engineering (Computer Science).

The School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences will also welcome its pioneer cohort of graduates from the Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and Economics.

Several higher degree programmes including the Master of Science (Systems and Project Management), Master of Education (English Literature) and Master of Arts (Counselling and Guidance) also see their pioneer cohorts graduate this year.

The University also will celebrate the achievements of the first batch of graduates from the C N Yang Scholars Programme. Named in honour of one of the first Asian Nobel Laureates, Professor Yang Chen Ning, the C N Yang Scholars Programme was launched in 2006 to provide top students with a sound and deep foundation in science with specialised studies in various branches of science and engineering. The curriculum is modelled after those of top science and technology universities like California Institute of Technology (Caltech) and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Presiding at this year’s convocation ceremony will be His Excellency, President S R Nathan, who is also Chancellor of NTU and Dr Ng Eng Hen, Minister for Education and Second Minister for Defence.

Distinguished luminaries join ranks of NTU alumni

This year, honorary degrees are conferred on:

• Professor Perry Lee McCarty, Silas H. Palmer Professor Emeritus, Environmental Engineering and Science, Stanford University
- Degree of Doctor of Engineering  (honoris causa)

• Professor Rudolph A. Marcus, Noyes Professor of Chemistry, California Institute of Technology
- Degree of Doctor of Science (honoris causa)

Both distinguished luminaries are honoured for their outstanding contributions in the field of education, research and science, which NTU has drawn inspirations in strengthening its thrust for excellence in sustainable earth and fostering the next generation of Singaporean scientists.
They will be receiving the honorary degrees at the first Convocation ceremony on 26 July 2010.

NTU honours inspiring teachers with the Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Award

At the first ceremony, 19 outstanding university scholars of the Class 2010 will receive the Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Award from His Excellency, President S R Nathan.

Previously known as the University Scholars Award, the award was renamed in 2010 in recognition of Mr Koh Boon Hwee’s personal gift of $2.5 million to the University.  Together with the Singapore Government’s dollar-for-dollar matching, the gift by the Chairman of NTU’s Board of Trustees established a $5 million endowment fund that will support the award. The award gives recognition to the influence of inspirational teaching, and the enduring bonds that are forged between teachers and students. 

The award recognises the achievements of top all round student achievers in the graduating class, while honouring the NTU faculty members, and teachers from their former junior college, polytechnic or equivalent institution who have been an inspiration to them.  A one-time cash grant of S$5,000 is set up in the name of each teacher nominated by the scholars.  The teacher in turn nominates a prospective student from his/her college or polytechnic (or equivalent) who will receive the S$5,000 grant on admission into NTU. 

The teachers and NTU faculty members that have been nominated are also presented with certificates of honour.

A University Awards dinner, hosted by NTU President, Dr Su Guaning, will be held on 26 July 2010 to celebrate the achievements of award and honorary degree recipients.  The Guest-of-Honour is Mr Koh Boon Hwee, Chairman of NTU's Board of Trustees.

The Class of 2010 Graduation Class Gift campaign

The Class of 2010 Graduation Class Gift  campaign has recorded the highest participation rate since the launch of the Graduation Class Gift programme – an impressive 70.72 per cent, a 25 percentage point rise over last year.

A total of $96,778 was raised from the Class of 2010.  The Graduation Class Gift programme support NTU's initiatives, including providing scholarships and bursaries to needy NTU students.

*** END ***

Media contact:
Hisham Hambari, Assistant Director, Corporate Communications Office
Tel: 6790 6447; Email:

Esther Ang, Manager, Corporate Communications Office
Tel: 6790 6804; Email:

About Nanyang Technological University


Share Article