News Details | 18-Jan-2010

Record number of Nobel Laureates at the International Science Youth Forum 2010

The Nanyang Technological University’s (NTU) Institute of Advanced Studies and Hwa Chong Institution (HCI) are pleased to host and co-organise the International Science Youth Forum (ISYF) 2010 from 18 to 22 January.

ISYF 2010 is mainly funded by Temasek Foundation, a non-profit philanthropic organisation anchored in Singapore, with a grant of about S$130,000.

This year, a record number of five Nobel Laureates, Professor Jerome I. Friedman (Physics, 1990), Professor David J. Gross (Physics, 2004), Professor Leland H. Hartwell (Physiology or Medicine, 2001), Professor Douglas D. Osheroff (Physics, 1996) and Sir Richard J. Roberts (Physiology or Medicine, 1993), and Emeritus Professor David Phillips (President-elect of the Royal Society of Chemistry, UK) will engage students and educators in the inaugural ISYF Nobel Forum.

Also a first, the Nobel Laureates will share and discuss Science research and pedagogical developments with the educator-participants.

A third first this year is the video-conference between Professor Hartwell and the student-participants on the science of sustainability.

ISYF 2010 brings together 93 outstanding science students and 29 science educators from 26 secondary schools and junior colleges in Brunei Darussalam, China, Hong Kong SAR, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, the Philippines, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam, and Singapore.

Mr Lim Swee Say, Minister, Prime Minister’s Office, will give the Welcome Address at the Grand Ceremony: Nobel Forum on 20 January at HCI’s Auditorium at Cheng Yi Block.

The theme for ISYF 2010 is Future Innovations and Science. The Forum aims to create a high-profile platform for elite Science students and educators from Asia to network with their counterparts and build their capacities.

Mr Koh Chin Nguang Bob, Deputy Director, Sciences (Curriculum Planning and Development Division), Ministry of Education (MOE), noted: “Tthe ISYF allows students from all parts of Asia to converge in Singapore for this rare opportunity to dialogue with and learn from the Nobel Laureates. We certainly hope that the participants will be inspired to further their interest in science and scientific research. The hope of creating a new world through Science lies in the hands of these young people.”

Added Professor KK Phua, Director, Institute of Advanced Studies, NTU: “This is perhaps the only youth science camp in the Asia-Pacific region that invites so many top, distinguished scientists, including Nobel Laureates. This would be a rare opportunity for our young scientists to interact with these brilliant minds and be inspired to pursue scientific research. Some of them could become our future Nobel Laureates.”

Said Hwa Chong’s Principal, Dr Hon Chiew Weng: “The ISYF aims to encourage innovation and research through greater interaction and collaboration amongst the best young minds of the region. In the coming week, these youths will engage the Nobel Laureates and other eminent scientists in stimulating discussions and dialogues on the future of innovation and Science.”

“The Nobel Laureates and distinguished scientists will share their vision of innovation for the betterment of humanity, and I am confident that our top young scientists will be motivated to use their knowledge to power scientific advancement for a better tomorrow,” Dr Hon added.

“In continuing Temasek Foundation’s support for the International Science Youth Forum, we hope that the youths and science educators participating in the forum will be energised and inspired by the exchange and mutual learning with fellow participants and the Nobel Laureates, and they in turn will spread this to their peers and friends in their home communities. This will in the longer term enhance the overall levels of interest in science education and research across Asia and beyond,” said Mr Benedict Cheong, Chief Executive Officer, Temasek Foundation.

“BASF is pleased to be involved again in the second ISYF. This is an excellent platform to promote science and innovation amongst our young talents. Supporting this initiative is in line with BASF’s core strategy to ensure sustainable development in society and to play its part in social responsibility,” said Mr Yee.

The second ISYF is jointly organised by HCI, and NTU’s Institute of Advanced Studies, with support from the Ministry of Education.


Media contacts:
Serene Jeffrey (Mrs)
Corporate Communications Officer
Hwa Chong Institution
Tel: 64688692

Dr Tan Mei Leng (For Chinese media)
Senior Consultant / Corporate Communications
Hwa Chong Institution
Tel: 64683956 x37

Edgar Lee
Senior Assistant Director
Corporate Communications Office
Nanyang Technological University
Tel: 67906052
Mobile: 83223973

About Hwa Chong Institution
Hwa Chong Institution is Singapore's premier independent school, with a rich history of 90 years. The Institution is the culmination of the watershed merger in 2005 between the former Chinese High School (founded 1919) and Hwa Chong Junior College (founded 1974).

A commitment to excellence is a hallmark of the Institution whose mission is to develop leaders for the nation. The Institution prides itself on having produced 50 President's Scholars, the highest number amongst all junior colleges in Singapore. Indeed, Hwa Chong is more than a school that produces top scholars. We also teach our students to embrace the values of hard work, integrity, passion, and compassion.

The Institution offers a seamless and broad-based six-year Integrated Programme (IP) that caters to the needs of the top three per cent of students from Singapore and the region. The strength of Hwa Chong’s IP lies in our ability to combine academic excellence with an outstanding range of opportunities beyond the classroom. Virtually all our students go on to leading universities, with a strong entry each year to Cambridge, Harvard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Oxford, Princeton, Stanford and Yale.

Our Humanities Programme is one of the world’s leading Oxford and Cambridge entry centres outside the United Kingdom, with over 300 students to date. We have also produced the highest number of Most Outstanding National Science Scholars in the A*STAR Honours List for five consecutive years, from 2004 to 2008.

Hwa Chong is the first independent school to set up a Beijing satellite campus and pioneer the FutureSchools@Singapore.

For more information on Hwa Chong Institution, visit

About Nanyang Technological University 



Share Article