News Details | 20-Jul-2009

NTU Conference on Physical and Mathematical Sciences

Nearly 100 distinguished experts in physical and mathematical sciences have congregated at the Nanyang Technological University’s (NTU) Lee Kong Chian Main Lecture Theatre for the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences (SPMS) Conference 2009. The three-day conference was officially opened by NTU President Dr Su Guaning on 20 July 2009.

Some 560 delegates are attending the SPMS Conference 2009 to learn from and exchange know-how and experience with these renowned overseas and local speakers. The three key areas of discussion at the Conference are: Frontiers in Chemistry, Advances in Mathematics, and Concepts of Condensed Matter and Device Innovation.

Among the speakers are Nobel Laureates, Fields Medallists and Lee Kong Chian Distinguished Professors - including Richard Ernst from Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology) Zurich, Switzerland; Rudolph A. Marcus from California Institute of Technology (Caltech), USA; Anthony J. Leggett from University of Illinois at Urbana, USA; Pierre-Louis Lions from University of Paris-Dauphine, Collège de France; and Jean-Pierre Serre from Collège de France. The SPMS Conference 2009 provides these delegates with an excellent platform to share creative ideas and explore collaborative opportunities.

Co-organised by NTU's SPMS and Institute of Advanced Studies, the Conference is held in conjunction with the official opening of the SPMS building on 21 July 2009. Dr Ng Eng Hen, Minister for Education and Second Minister for Defence will grace the official opening ceremony of the building as the Guest-of-Honour.

For more information on the SPMS Conference 2009, please go to:

*** END ***

Media contact:
Patricia Yap, Assistant Manager, Corporate Communications Office
Tel: 6790 5417; Mobile: 9846 6716; Email:

About Nanyang Technological University 


Share Article