News Details | 26-Sep-2011

Dr Wee Cho Yaw makes S$3m gift to NTU’s Nanyang Business School

Gift makes possible Wee Cho Yaw MSc (Finance) Scholarship Fund for Chinese financial sector regulators to enhance relations between Singapore and Chinese institutions

Nanyang Technological University (NTU) is pleased to announce a S$3-million gift from its Pro-Chancellor Dr Wee Cho Yaw, which will go towards the establishment of a new scholarship fund at NTU’s Nanyang Business School for students in the Master of Science (Finance) programme.

Dr Wee’s gift will attract a dollar-for-dollar matching grant from the Singapore Government, resulting in a $6-million endowed fund that will support four Wee Cho Yaw Scholars each year. Valued at S$60,000 each, the scholarships will cover the tuition fees, as well as living and travel allowances for selected scholars on the full-time, one-year bilingual programme conducted in English and Chinese.

The gift is part of Dr Wee Cho Yaw’s on-going efforts to strengthen ties and collaboration between Singapore and China.

Dr Wee Cho Yaw, Chairman of the Wee Foundation said, “I hope that the scholarships will further deepen the good relations between the financial sectors of the two countries.”

NTU President, Professor Bertil Andersson, said: “On behalf of NTU, I wish to express our heartfelt gratitude to Dr Wee, our Pro-Chancellor, long-time supporter and benefactor. His generous gesture is testament to his belief in NTU, and his faith in our vision to become a great global university that is multicultural in character and cross-disciplinary in its approach to education and research.”

Aimed at enhancing relations between Singapore and Chinese institutions, the Wee Cho Yaw Master of Science (Finance) Scholarship Fund will be open to eligible and qualified Chinese financial sector regulators, such as those from China Banking Regulatory Commission, People’s Bank of China, China Securities Regulatory Commission, and other similar regulatory bodies.

“At a time of China’s burgeoning financial standing in the global market, the new scholarship fund will allow up-and-coming leaders in the Chinese banking and financial regulatory sector the opportunity to pursue the MSc (Finance) programme that is relevant to their work,” said Professor Gillian Yeo, Interim Dean, Nanyang Business School.

Professor Yeo added: “We thank Dr Wee for this far-sighted gift, which will ultimately achieve a positive multiplier effect in the development of Chinese markets, as well as the enhancement of collaborations between the financial markets in Singapore and China.”

One of Singapore’s most eminent bankers, Dr Wee is the Chairman of the United Overseas Bank (UOB) Group, which has a network of over 500 offices in 19 countries and territories in Asia Pacific, Western Europe and North America. The Group has in particular a well-established presence in Asia, with banking subsidiaries in Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and China. UOB was among the first Singapore banks to start a Representative Office in Beijing in 1984, and a branch in Xiamen in 1985.

Dr Wee was recently honoured with the prestigious Distinguished Service Order at the National Day Awards, for his contributions to the community as Founding President of the Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations (1986 – 2010) and as NTU Pro-Chancellor since 2004.


Media contact

Wang Meng Meng
Assistant Director (Media Relations)
Corporate Communications Office
Nanyang Technological University
Tel: (65) 6790 6681

About Nanyang Technological University 

A research-intensive public university, Nanyang Technological University (NTU) has 33,500 undergraduate and postgraduate students in the colleges of Engineering, Business, Science, and Humanities, Arts, & Social Sciences.  In 2013, NTU will enrol the first batch of students at its new medical school, the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, which is set up jointly with Imperial College London.

NTU is also home to four world-class autonomous institutes – the National Institute of Education, S Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Earth Observatory of Singapore, and Singapore Centre on Environmental Life Sciences Engineering – and various leading research centres such as the Nanyang Environment & Water Research Institute (NEWRI) and Energy Research Institute @ NTU (ERI@N).

A fast-growing university with an international outlook, NTU is putting its global stamp on Five Peaks of Excellence: Sustainable Earth, Future Healthcare, New Media, New Silk Road, and Innovation Asia.

Besides the main Yunnan Garden campus, NTU also has a satellite campus in Singapore’s science and tech hub, one-north, and is setting up a third campus in Novena, Singapore’s medical district.

For more information, visit

About Nanyang Business School

The Nanyang Business School (NBS) is a leading business school committed to nurturing leaders for a sustainable world through academically rigorous curricula that are relevant to business practice. NBS is one of Asia's largest business schools, offering a comprehensive array of undergraduate and graduate programmes in accountancy and business. The Nanyang MBA is its flagship programme and has been consistently ranked among the best in the Asia-Pacific by both The Financial Times and The Economist. Drawing on a 50-year heritage of educating the region's business leaders, NBS provides an outstanding learning environment with state-of-the-art facilities and world-class research centres.

NBS is the first business school in Singapore, and the third in Asia, to attain both the European Quality Improvement System and Association of Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) accreditations. It is also one of only five business schools outside of the United States to be accredited with the AACSB in Accounting. These are the most widely recognised European and American quality assurance standards relating to the provision of accounting and business education.

To leverage the strengths of world-class institutions, NBS has established strategic partnerships with the business schools of many internationally renowned universities. These include the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT); Carnegie Mellon University; Cornell University; University of California, Berkeley; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Essec Business School; University of St Gallen; Waseda University; and the Shanghai Jiaotong University.

For more information, please visit

Share Article