News Details | 20-Aug-2008

NTU presents scholarship awards to outstanding freshmen and graduates

In recognition of academic excellence and leadership potential, Nanyang Technological University (NTU) has been offering a variety of scholarships to graduate and undergraduate students.  Among the many scholarships are: the inaugural Nanyang President’s Graduate Scholarship (NPGS) which prepares top graduates or final-year students for global research leadership through doctoral studies; and the prestigious Nanyang Scholarship for bright and talented freshmen from junior colleges and local polytechnics to pursue undergraduate education.
To celebrate the success of the students in gaining the NPGS and Nanyang Scholarship for academic year 2008/2009, two ceremonies will be held at NTU on 20 and 22 August 2008 for graduate and undergraduate students respectively.  Guest-of-Honour, NTU President Dr Su Guaning, will be presenting the certificates to the inaugural batch of 27 Nanyang President’s Graduate Scholars and the 105-strong cohort of 2008 Nanyang Scholars at the ceremonies.  The third cohort of 40 CN Yang Scholars will also be honoured together with the Nanyang Scholars on 22 August.

Nanyang President’s Graduate Scholarship (NPGS) 2008 

27 outstanding graduates, who are bright young research leaders of the future, will be awarded the Nanyang president’s Graduate Scholarship this year.  The competitive scholarship scheme was launched in March this year to encourage talented graduates and final year students to take their first step towards a leading research career by pursuing a doctoral degree programme at NTU. 
The bond-free scholarship is open to students of all nationalities with first-class honours degrees - or equivalent at the bachelor's level - and a strong passion for research and exceptional leadership qualities.  Funding will be provided by NTU for up to four years of PhD studies, covering monthly stipend, tuition fees and other allowances.
Details of the Nanyang President’s Graduate Scholarship 2008 Award Ceremony:
Date : 20 August 2008 (Wednesday)
Time : 2.00pm – 3.30pm
Venue : Class Room 1 (SBS-01n-33), School of Biological Sciences, NTU, 60 Nanyang Drive

Nanyang Scholarship 2008

A total of 105 outstanding freshmen will be receiving the prestigious Nanyang Scholarship for academic year 2008/2009.  The majority of the scholars are from local junior colleges and some of them are high school graduates from overseas countries such as Vietnam, China and Malaysia. This year, six top poly graduates have been awarded the scholarship after going through scholarship interviews.
In addition to academic excellence, these students have an impressive track record in co-curricular activities and strong leadership potential.  Students who have been awarded the scholarship may choose to study any degree programme offered by NTU.  The bond-free scholarship covers the students' tuition fees, an annual living allowance, funding for leadership training and selected exchange programmes, and other allowances.
The Nanyang Scholarship helps create a community of students with diverse talents and strengths within NTU. The NTU Undergraduate Experience will foster their strengths and shape them as entrepreneurial global leaders for the professional world.

CN Yang Scholars Programme

This year, 40 talented undergraduate students have been selected for the CN Yang Scholars Programme, 27 of which are also recipients of the Nanyang Scholarship.  The CN Yang Scholars Programme was launched in 2006 to groom exceptionally able science and engineering undergraduate students into top-notch scientists and engineers.  Named after Physics Nobel Laureate Professor Yang Chen Ning, the academic programme provides a strong foundation in science and empowers the students to delve deeper into any discipline in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. It cultivates their interest in research and prepares them for greater feats in the high-tech world. 
Details of the Nanyang Scholarship 2008 Award Ceremony:
Date : 22 August 2008 (Friday)
Time : 4.30pm – 7.30pm
Venue : Auditorium, Level 2, School of Art, Design and Media, NTU, 81 Nanyang Drive

                                                                                           *** END ***

Media contact
Phoebia Tang, Manager, Corporate Communications Office
Tel: 6790 6686; Mobile: 9745 6082; Email:

About Nanyang Technological University


Share Article