News Details | 21-Jul-2008

NTU celebrates the graduation of its Class of 2008

• Largest ever of graduating students; pioneer humanities and science graduates
• Four honorary degrees conferred
• 40 teachers and professors honoured by University Scholars

Nanyang Technological University (NTU) celebrates the graduation of 7,313 students from its Class of 2008 in 15 ceremonies held over a six-day convocation period, from Monday, 21 July to Saturday, 26 July 2008.  A total of 155 gold medals are given out.

This year’s Convocation marks the graduation of the pioneer cohort of 53 students from the Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Economics programme.

The School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences will also welcome its first batch of graduates from its pioneer cohort – seven exceptionally able students graduating a year ahead of their cohort. The Bachelor of Arts programme will also see three students graduating a year ahead of their cohort – one from its English programme and two from its Chinese programme.

The popular Bachelor of Science (Maritime Studies) and the Bachelor of Engineering (Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering) programmes also see their pioneer cohorts graduate this year.

Graduates from several higher degree programmes include the Master of Science (Finance), Master of Science (Mathematics for Educators), Master of Arts (Social Studies), Doctor of Philosophy (Advanced Materials for Micro-and Nano-Systems), Doctor of Philosophy (Molecular Engineering of Biological and Chemical Systems) and Doctor of Philosophy (Computer Science) degrees.

Presiding at this year’s convocation ceremony will be His Excellency, President S R Nathan, who is also Chancellor of NTU and Dr Ng Eng Hen, Minister for Education and Second Minister for Defence, will also be attending the ceremony.

Distinguished luminaries join ranks of NTU alumni

This year, honorary degrees are conferred on:

• Professor Yang Chen Ning, Nobel Laureate in Physics, 1957
- Degree of Doctor of Science (honoris causa)

• Dr A PJ Abdul Kalam, President of India from 2002 – 2007
- Degree of Doctor of Engineering (honoris causa)

• Professor Chua Nam Hai, Andrew W. Mellon Professor and Head, Laboratory of Plant Molecular Biology at the Rockefeller University
- Degree of Doctor of Science (honoris causa)

• Professor Jose Luis Encarnacao, Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics
- Degree of Doctor of Engineering (honoris causa)
Professor Chua Nam Hai and Professor Jose Luis Encarnacao will be receiving their honorary degrees at the convocation ceremony on 21 July 2008.  Professor Yang Chen Ning and Dr Abdul Kalam are not able to be present at the Convocation due to prior engagements, and two separate ceremonies will be held to honour them later in the year.

These distinguished luminaries are honoured for their outstanding contributions in the field of science and technology, and for their strong ties with the University which have helped strengthened the academic standing of NTU in the global arena.

NTU honours inspiring teachers with the University Scholars Award

At the first ceremony, 20 outstanding University Scholars of the Class of 2008 will receive the University Scholars Award from His Excellency, President S R Nathan.

The NTU University Scholars Award (launched last year), ranks only after the Lee Kuan Yew Gold Medals, recognises the achievements of these all round student achievers in the graduating class, while honouring the teachers and faculty members who have been an inspiration to them.  A one-time cash grant of S$5,000 is set up in the name of each teacher nominated by the University Scholars.  The teacher in turn nominates a prospective student from his/her college or polytechnic (or equivalent) who will receive the S$5,000 grant on admission into NTU.  For a list of University Scholars and their honourees, please refer to the fact sheet.

The teachers and NTU faculty members nominated by the University Scholars are also presented with certificates of honour.

A University Awards dinner, hosted by NTU President, Dr Su Guaning, will be held on the evening of the 21st July 2008 to celebrate the achievements of award and honorary degree recipients.  The guest-of-honour is Dr Ng Eng Hen, Minister for Education and Second Minister for Defence.

*** END ***

Media contact
Jinny Claire Sim, Assistant Director, Corporate Communications Office
Tel: 6790 6687; Mobile: 9738 8995; Email:

About Nanyang Technological University


Share Article